aitrove. Submit a tool

Best AI Photo Editing Tools

6 AI tools that fit the work editing, retouching and restoring photos actually do, grouped by task. Tasks are ordered by how central they are to the job; inside each task, tools are ordered by aitrove popularity. That's not a quality ranking: we compiled every review from public sources (pricing pages, docs, published reviews, user reports), not hands-on testing.

Full photo editors · Retouching and generation · Restoration

Quick answer

The most popular pick on aitrove for each part of the job (popularity, not a quality score):

At a glance

ToolTaskBest forBiggest weaknessFree tierStarting price
Adobe Photoshop (AI)Full photo editorsPhotographers and designers already in Photoshop.The Photoshop single-app plan includes only 25 generative credits a month for new subscribers (500 if you subscribed before June 17, 2025)NoFree tier: no (free trial). Photoshop single app $22.99/mo (annual, billed monthly), 25 credits/mo. Photography 1TB $19.99/mo, 1,000 credits. Creative Cloud Pro $69.99/mo, unlimited standard generations + 4,000 premium credits. (checked Oct 10, 2026)
RembrandtFull photo editorsPhotographers who want local, free photo editing.Early project; far less mature than LightroomYesFree and open source (GPL-3.0) (checked Oct 14, 2026)
PhotoVortexRetouching and generationPeople who want lots of AI photos of themselves without a photographer.Paid only — no free tier per UneedNot statedBasic $19.99/mo ($13.83 annual, 5,000 credits); Pro $39.99/mo (checked Oct 14, 2026)
PhotoGPTRetouching and generationEcommerce sellers who need listing images fast.Outputs need checking for product accuracyYesFree to try; paid plans. Pricing not verified (checked Oct 14, 2026)
PhotolariaRetouching and generationQuick prompt-based edits.Credit-limitedYesFree credits; paid plans. Pricing not verified (checked Oct 14, 2026)
Upscayl Photo RestorationRestorationRestoring old family photos.Cloud processing: uploads leave your deviceNot statedPricing not verified (checked Oct 14, 2026)

"Free tier" comes from each tool's pricing line; "Not stated" means our source didn't say. Prices include the date we checked them.

Full photo editors

1. Adobe Photoshop (AI)

Best for: Photographers and designers already in Photoshop.

Pros

  • Generative Fill and Expand live inside the industry-standard editor
  • Creative Cloud Pro includes unlimited standard generations

Cons

  • The Photoshop single-app plan includes only 25 generative credits a month for new subscribers (500 if you subscribed before June 17, 2025)
  • Credits don't roll over, and partner-model fills can cost up to 40 credits each

Skip it if: You want AI image generation without a Creative Cloud subscription.

Price: Free tier: no (free trial). Photoshop single app $22.99/mo (annual, billed monthly), 25 credits/mo. Photography 1TB $19.99/mo, 1,000 credits. Creative Cloud Pro $69.99/mo, unlimited standard generations + 4,000 premium credits. (checked Oct 10, 2026)

Sources for Adobe Photoshop (AI)

2. Rembrandt

Best for: Photographers who want local, free photo editing.

Pros

  • Free, open-source Lightroom alternative that runs fully local with AI features
  • GPL-3.0

Cons

  • Early project; far less mature than Lightroom
  • Requires building or installing from GitHub

Skip it if: You rely on Lightroom ecosystem features.

Price: Free and open source (GPL-3.0) (checked Oct 14, 2026)

Sources for Rembrandt

Retouching and generation

3. PhotoVortex

Best for: People who want lots of AI photos of themselves without a photographer.

Pros

  • Upload selfies to train a personal model, then generate headshots, thumbnails, dating photos and creative portraits
  • Also upscales and filters real photos

Cons

  • Paid only — no free tier per Uneed
  • Generated likeness can drift from what you really look like

Skip it if: You need true-to-life professional headshots for formal use.

Price: Basic $19.99/mo ($13.83 annual, 5,000 credits); Pro $39.99/mo (checked Oct 14, 2026)

Sources for PhotoVortex

4. PhotoGPT

Best for: Ecommerce sellers who need listing images fast.

Pros

  • AI product photography: lifestyle shots, AI models and listing assets for ecommerce
  • Batch editor and video studio

Cons

  • Outputs need checking for product accuracy
  • Credit-based plans

Skip it if: You need exact, studio-grade product fidelity.

Price: Free to try; paid plans. Pricing not verified (checked Oct 14, 2026)

Sources for PhotoGPT

5. Photolaria

Best for: Quick prompt-based edits.

Pros

  • AI photo editing with text prompts: retouch, enhance, restyle
  • Also image generator, upscaler and headshots

Cons

  • Credit-limited
  • Crowded category

Skip it if: You need precise manual control.

Price: Free credits; paid plans. Pricing not verified (checked Oct 14, 2026)

Sources for Photolaria

Restoration

6. Upscayl Photo Restoration

Best for: Restoring old family photos.

Pros

  • Browser tool to remove scratches, stains and creases and restore faded colour
  • Uses FLUX Kontext Restore

Cons

  • Cloud processing: uploads leave your device
  • Separate from the free open-source Upscayl desktop app

Skip it if: Photos are sensitive.

Price: Pricing not verified (checked Oct 14, 2026)

Sources for Upscayl Photo Restoration

FAQ

What are the best AI Photo Editing Tools in 2026?

Our 6 picks for editing, retouching and restoring photos, grouped by task. Full photo editors: Adobe Photoshop (AI) and Rembrandt; Retouching and generation: PhotoVortex, PhotoGPT and Photolaria; Restoration: Upscayl Photo Restoration. Inside each task, tools are ordered by aitrove popularity, not by a quality score.

Which AI tools for AI photo editing have a free tier?

Rembrandt, PhotoGPT and Photolaria have a free tier, according to the sourced pricing on each tool card. For the rest our sources don't state a free plan, so check the vendor page.

How were these AI tools for AI photo editing chosen?

We only publish a job roundup when at least 5 reviewed tools genuinely fit the work. Pros, catches and prices are compiled from public sources (official pricing and docs pages, published reviews, user reports), not hands-on testing, and were checked Oct 14, 2026. Every tool card links its sources.

More roundups

Pros, catches and prices are compiled from public sources (official pricing and docs pages, published reviews, user reports), not hands-on testing. Prices change often, so check the vendor page before you buy.