Best AI tools for startup founders

10 AI tools that fit the work startup founders actually do, grouped by task. Tasks are ordered by how central they are to the job; inside each task, tools are ordered by aitrove popularity. That's not a quality ranking: we compiled every review from public sources (pricing pages, docs, published reviews, user reports), not hands-on testing.

Building the MVP · Brand and website · Operations · Research

At a glance

ToolTaskBest forBiggest weaknessFree tierStarting price
Base44Building the MVPNon-developers building internal tools and MVPs.Credits don't roll over, and consumption is hard to predictYesFree tier: yes. Starter $20/mo ($16 annual), Builder $50 ($40), Pro $100 ($80), Elite $200 ($160). (checked Oct 11, 2026)
Replit AgentBuilding the MVPBeginners who want to go from idea to deployed app in one tool.Effort-based pricing: complex requests are billed as one checkpoint that can cost well over $0.25, so cost per prompt isn't predictableYesFree tier: yes (Starter, daily caps). Core $20/mo ($18/mo billed annually), includes $20 of usage credits. Pro $100/mo ($90/mo billed annually). (checked Oct 10, 2026)
LovableBuilding the MVPFounders prototyping MVPs.Building, hosting and in-app AI share one credit balance, so production traffic eats build creditsYesFree tier: yes (5 credits/day). Pro from $25/mo (100 credits). Business from $50/mo. (checked Oct 10, 2026)
Bolt.newBuilding the MVPFast prototypes and demos.Failed fixes, whole-file rewrites and context reads all burn tokensYesFree tier: yes (300K tokens/day). Pro $25/mo. Teams $30/member/mo. (checked Oct 10, 2026)
FramerBrand and websiteDesigners and startups shipping marketing sites.Pricing is per site, plus $20/mo per extra editor seat, which stacks fastYesFree tier: yes. Basic $10/mo, Pro $30/mo (per site). (checked Oct 10, 2026)
LookaBrand and websiteNew small businesses needing a quick brand kit.$20 Basic is a single low-res PNG. Usable files start at $65Not statedBasic $20, Premium $65 (one-time). Brand Kit $96/yr, Brand Kit Web $129/yr. (checked Oct 11, 2026)
Notion AIOperationsTeams whose knowledge already lives in Notion.The full AI features need the Business plan ($20/seat/mo). Free and Plus only get a limited trialYesFree tier: yes (AI limited to a trial). Plus $10/seat/mo, Business $20/seat/mo. Agent credits $10 per 1,000/mo. (checked Oct 10, 2026)
ZapierOperationsNon-developers connecting lots of SaaS apps.Every successful action counts as a task, so multi-step Zaps burn through themYesFree tier: yes (100 tasks/mo). Professional from $19.99/mo billed annually ($29.99 monthly), 750 tasks. (checked Oct 10, 2026)
LinearOperationsSoftware teams that want speed over configurability.Loops and coding sessions need prepaid AI creditsYesFree tier: yes. Basic $10, Business $16 per user/mo (annual). AI credits extra. (checked Oct 11, 2026)
PerplexityResearchQuick research where you want sources, and you'll actually check them.Pro limits are 'weekly limits (average use)', with no number publishedYesFree tier: yes (3 Pro Searches/day). Pro $20/mo or $200/yr. Education Pro $10/mo. Max $200/mo. (checked Oct 10, 2026)

"Free tier" comes from each tool's pricing line; "Not stated" means our source didn't say. Prices include the date we checked them.

Building the MVP

1. Base44

Best for: Non-developers building internal tools and MVPs.

Pros

  • Builds full apps from prompts with database, auth and hosting built in
  • Free plan to try

Cons

  • Credits don't roll over, and consumption is hard to predict
  • No uptime SLA below Enterprise

Skip it if: You need a portable codebase or production-grade uptime guarantees.

Price: Free tier: yes. Starter $20/mo ($16 annual), Builder $50 ($40), Pro $100 ($80), Elite $200 ($160). (checked Oct 11, 2026)

Sources for Base44

2. Replit Agent

Best for: Beginners who want to go from idea to deployed app in one tool.

Pros

  • Builds and deploys apps in the browser, with no setup
  • Handles hosting, databases and deployment in one place

Cons

  • Effort-based pricing: complex requests are billed as one checkpoint that can cost well over $0.25, so cost per prompt isn't predictable
  • Usage beyond the monthly credits is billed unless you set a usage limit in Settings

Skip it if: You need a hard cap on spend and won't set usage limits.

Price: Free tier: yes (Starter, daily caps). Core $20/mo ($18/mo billed annually), includes $20 of usage credits. Pro $100/mo ($90/mo billed annually). (checked Oct 10, 2026)

Sources for Replit Agent

3. Lovable

Best for: Founders prototyping MVPs.

Pros

  • Builds full web apps from plain English, fast
  • Free: 5 build credits/day

Cons

  • Building, hosting and in-app AI share one credit balance, so production traffic eats build credits
  • Credits are charged regardless of outcome. Fix loops burn them

Skip it if: You're building complex production software on a fixed budget.

Price: Free tier: yes (5 credits/day). Pro from $25/mo (100 credits). Business from $50/mo. (checked Oct 10, 2026)

Sources for Lovable

4. Bolt.new

Best for: Fast prototypes and demos.

Pros

  • Full-stack apps in the browser from a prompt, with no setup
  • The free plan includes 300K tokens/day (1M/month)

Cons

  • Failed fixes, whole-file rewrites and context reads all burn tokens
  • Users report agent loops that eat tokens while it fixes its own errors

Skip it if: You're building a big production codebase on a fixed budget.

Price: Free tier: yes (300K tokens/day). Pro $25/mo. Teams $30/member/mo. (checked Oct 10, 2026)

Sources for Bolt.new

Brand and website

5. Framer

Best for: Designers and startups shipping marketing sites.

Pros

  • Beautiful, designer-friendly websites with AI generation
  • A free plan with 500 AI credits to try

Cons

  • Pricing is per site, plus $20/mo per extra editor seat, which stacks fast
  • No code export, so you're locked into Framer hosting

Skip it if: You need code ownership or a complex CMS or store.

Price: Free tier: yes. Basic $10/mo, Pro $30/mo (per site). (checked Oct 10, 2026)

Sources for Framer

6. Looka

Best for: New small businesses needing a quick brand kit.

Pros

  • AI logo generator with full brand kits
  • One-time logo packages from $20

Cons

  • $20 Basic is a single low-res PNG. Usable files start at $65
  • Generic designs and limited edits after purchase

Skip it if: You need a distinctive, trademark-ready logo.

Price: Basic $20, Premium $65 (one-time). Brand Kit $96/yr, Brand Kit Web $129/yr. (checked Oct 11, 2026)

Sources for Looka

Operations

7. Notion AI

Best for: Teams whose knowledge already lives in Notion.

Pros

  • Searches and acts on what your team already keeps in Notion: docs, projects and wikis
  • AI agents can take on repetitive workspace tasks

Cons

  • The full AI features need the Business plan ($20/seat/mo). Free and Plus only get a limited trial
  • Custom agents are extra: $10 per 1,000 monthly Notion credits

Skip it if: You're solo or just need a writing assistant. A standalone chatbot is cheaper.

Price: Free tier: yes (AI limited to a trial). Plus $10/seat/mo, Business $20/seat/mo. Agent credits $10 per 1,000/mo. (checked Oct 10, 2026)

Sources for Notion AI

8. Zapier

Best for: Non-developers connecting lots of SaaS apps.

Pros

  • The broadest app-integration catalog for no-code automation
  • A free tier with 100 tasks/month

Cons

  • Every successful action counts as a task, so multi-step Zaps burn through them
  • Overage is on by default for newer accounts, billed at 1.25x

Skip it if: You run high-volume automations on a budget.

Price: Free tier: yes (100 tasks/mo). Professional from $19.99/mo billed annually ($29.99 monthly), 750 tasks. (checked Oct 10, 2026)

Sources for Zapier

9. Linear

Best for: Software teams that want speed over configurability.

Pros

  • Fast, opinionated issue tracker loved by product teams
  • Linear Agent is available on Free

Cons

  • Loops and coding sessions need prepaid AI credits
  • Coding sessions charge model tokens plus $0.25 per 20-minute sandbox block

Skip it if: You need heavy customization like Jira.

Price: Free tier: yes. Basic $10, Business $16 per user/mo (annual). AI credits extra. (checked Oct 11, 2026)

Sources for Linear

Research

10. Perplexity

Best for: Quick research where you want sources, and you'll actually check them.

Pros

  • Answers come with citations you can click and check
  • The free plan includes 3 Pro Searches a day

Cons

  • Pro limits are 'weekly limits (average use)', with no number published
  • Its own help page warns advanced-model access may be limited during weeks of heavy use

Skip it if: You need guaranteed volume of top-model queries.

Price: Free tier: yes (3 Pro Searches/day). Pro $20/mo or $200/yr. Education Pro $10/mo. Max $200/mo. (checked Oct 10, 2026)

Sources for Perplexity

Head-to-head comparisons

More roundups

Pros, catches and prices are compiled from public sources (official pricing and docs pages, published reviews, user reports), not hands-on testing. Prices change often, so check the vendor page before you buy.