Best AI tools for small business owners

7 AI tools that fit the work small business owners actually do, grouped by task. Tasks are ordered by how central they are to the job; inside each task, tools are ordered by aitrove popularity. That's not a quality ranking: we compiled every review from public sources (pricing pages, docs, published reviews, user reports), not hands-on testing.

Marketing graphics · Logo and website · Everyday writing and admin · Automation

At a glance

ToolTaskBest forBiggest weaknessFree tierStarting price
CanvaMarketing graphicsNon-designers making social posts, decks and marketing assets fast.Pro went from $12.99 to $15 to $18/mo in roughly 18 monthsYesFree tier: yes. Pro $144/yr (~$12/mo) or $18/mo monthly. Business $250/yr per person. (checked Oct 10, 2026)
ReaddyLogo and websiteSmall businesses that need a quick marketing site.Each generation or edit costs 25 credits, so iteration burns credits fastYesFree tier: yes (250 credits/mo). Starter $25/mo ($15 annual), Pro $40/mo ($24 annual). (checked Oct 11, 2026)
LookaLogo and websiteNew small businesses needing a quick brand kit.$20 Basic is a single low-res PNG. Usable files start at $65Not statedBasic $20, Premium $65 (one-time). Brand Kit $96/yr, Brand Kit Web $129/yr. (checked Oct 11, 2026)
ChatGPTEveryday writing and adminPeople who want one assistant for writing, research, images and light coding.Free and Go may show ads. Plus ($20/mo) is the cheapest ad-free planYesFree tier: yes. Go $8/mo (US, may include ads), Plus $20/mo, Pro from $100/mo. (checked Oct 10, 2026)
GrammarlyEveryday writing and adminProfessionals and non-native English writers who write all day.$12/mo only applies on annual billing ($144 upfront). Reviews report $30 for month-to-monthYesFree tier: yes. Pro $12/mo billed annually (reviews report $30 month-to-month). 7-day free trial. (checked Oct 10, 2026)
Microsoft CopilotEveryday writing and adminMicrosoft 365 households and businesses.The free version lacks deep Office-app AI and agentsYesFree tier: yes. Microsoft 365 Premium $19.99/mo. Microsoft 365 Copilot Business $18/user/mo paid yearly (discounted from $21), $25.20 on monthly billing. (checked Oct 10, 2026)
ZapierAutomationNon-developers connecting lots of SaaS apps.Every successful action counts as a task, so multi-step Zaps burn through themYesFree tier: yes (100 tasks/mo). Professional from $19.99/mo billed annually ($29.99 monthly), 750 tasks. (checked Oct 10, 2026)

"Free tier" comes from each tool's pricing line; "Not stated" means our source didn't say. Prices include the date we checked them.

Marketing graphics

1. Canva

Best for: Non-designers making social posts, decks and marketing assets fast.

Pros

  • The free plan covers a lot of everyday design
  • Pro unlocks premium templates, one-click resize, translate and background removal

Cons

  • Pro went from $12.99 to $15 to $18/mo in roughly 18 months
  • AI use is capped ('10x more than Free' on Pro), and extra AI is a paid add-on

Skip it if: You need pro-grade vector or print work. Use a dedicated design tool.

Price: Free tier: yes. Pro $144/yr (~$12/mo) or $18/mo monthly. Business $250/yr per person. (checked Oct 10, 2026)

Sources for Canva

Logo and website

2. Readdy

Best for: Small businesses that need a quick marketing site.

Pros

  • Turns prompts into publishable websites with hosting, forms and chat
  • Code and Figma export

Cons

  • Each generation or edit costs 25 credits, so iteration burns credits fast
  • Free plan is only 250 credits/mo (about 10 generations)

Skip it if: You iterate heavily on design details.

Price: Free tier: yes (250 credits/mo). Starter $25/mo ($15 annual), Pro $40/mo ($24 annual). (checked Oct 11, 2026)

Sources for Readdy

3. Looka

Best for: New small businesses needing a quick brand kit.

Pros

  • AI logo generator with full brand kits
  • One-time logo packages from $20

Cons

  • $20 Basic is a single low-res PNG. Usable files start at $65
  • Generic designs and limited edits after purchase

Skip it if: You need a distinctive, trademark-ready logo.

Price: Basic $20, Premium $65 (one-time). Brand Kit $96/yr, Brand Kit Web $129/yr. (checked Oct 11, 2026)

Sources for Looka

Everyday writing and admin

4. ChatGPT

Best for: People who want one assistant for writing, research, images and light coding.

Pros

  • The free tier is real: unlimited everyday text chats, with uploads, images, voice and deep research included in limited amounts
  • Go at $8/mo gets you more messages, uploads and memory for well under half the price of Plus

Cons

  • Free and Go may show ads. Plus ($20/mo) is the cheapest ad-free plan
  • No annual billing on Go, Plus or Pro, so no discount for committing

Skip it if: You need predictable, published usage caps, or ads are a dealbreaker on a budget.

Price: Free tier: yes. Go $8/mo (US, may include ads), Plus $20/mo, Pro from $100/mo. (checked Oct 10, 2026)

Sources for ChatGPT

5. Grammarly

Best for: Professionals and non-native English writers who write all day.

Pros

  • Real-time grammar, clarity and tone fixes in most apps you already write in
  • The free plan is genuinely usable for basic correctness

Cons

  • $12/mo only applies on annual billing ($144 upfront). Reviews report $30 for month-to-month
  • AI prompts are capped, even on Pro

Skip it if: You write occasionally. Free, or the chatbot you already pay for, is enough.

Price: Free tier: yes. Pro $12/mo billed annually (reviews report $30 month-to-month). 7-day free trial. (checked Oct 10, 2026)

Sources for Grammarly

6. Microsoft Copilot

Best for: Microsoft 365 households and businesses.

Pros

  • Free Copilot chat on the web and in the app is genuinely usable
  • Microsoft 365 Premium bundles Office apps, storage and expanded Copilot

Cons

  • The free version lacks deep Office-app AI and agents
  • On Premium, AI benefits apply only to the subscription owner, not family members

Skip it if: You mainly need free chat. You don't have to pay.

Price: Free tier: yes. Microsoft 365 Premium $19.99/mo. Microsoft 365 Copilot Business $18/user/mo paid yearly (discounted from $21), $25.20 on monthly billing. (checked Oct 10, 2026)

Sources for Microsoft Copilot

Automation

7. Zapier

Best for: Non-developers connecting lots of SaaS apps.

Pros

  • The broadest app-integration catalog for no-code automation
  • A free tier with 100 tasks/month

Cons

  • Every successful action counts as a task, so multi-step Zaps burn through them
  • Overage is on by default for newer accounts, billed at 1.25x

Skip it if: You run high-volume automations on a budget.

Price: Free tier: yes (100 tasks/mo). Professional from $19.99/mo billed annually ($29.99 monthly), 750 tasks. (checked Oct 10, 2026)

Sources for Zapier

Head-to-head comparisons

More roundups

Pros, catches and prices are compiled from public sources (official pricing and docs pages, published reviews, user reports), not hands-on testing. Prices change often, so check the vendor page before you buy.