aitrove. Submit a tool

Best AI Code Review Tools

6 AI tools that fit the work reviewing pull requests automatically actually do, grouped by task. Tasks are ordered by how central they are to the job; inside each task, tools are ordered by aitrove popularity. That's not a quality ranking: we compiled every review from public sources (pricing pages, docs, published reviews, user reports), not hands-on testing.

Hosted review platforms · Self-hosted and local · Desktop and platform review

Quick answer

The most popular pick on aitrove for each part of the job (popularity, not a quality score):

At a glance

ToolTaskBest forBiggest weaknessFree tierStarting price
CodeRabbitHosted review platformsTeams that want every PR reviewed automatically before merge.Hourly per-developer review allowances on every plan (fair-use policy)YesFree for public repos. Essentials $24/user/mo annual ($30 monthly), Team $48, Advanced $72, Enterprise custom; 14-day trial. (checked Nov 8, 2026)
GreptileHosted review platformsTeams that prefer usage-based AI code review over per-seat pricing.Credit burn depends on review depth: base review 1 credit, plus 3, apex 10Not statedStarter free (1 dev, 50 credits/mo); Pro $1/credit, no seat fees (base review 1 credit, plus 3, apex 10); Enterprise custom; OSS free. (checked Nov 8, 2026)
ProvalSelf-hosted and localPrivacy-focused teams.You run the infrastructureYesFree and open source (AGPL-3.0) (checked Oct 14, 2026)
avouchSelf-hosted and localPython developers wanting fast local review.Early open-source project with a small communityYesFree and open source (MIT) (checked Oct 14, 2026)
CodeCrabDesktop and platform reviewEngineers who want AI PR review without giving a third-party bot org-wide OAuth on private code.Your chosen AI CLI still sends review context to that provider under your account terms — not fully offline inferenceYesFree public beta. Uses your existing AI CLI subscriptions/keys; no separate CodeCrab subscription listed. (checked Oct 15, 2026)
CubicDesktop and platform reviewSmall teams that want automated PR review.Per-seat pricing ($30–$160/mo billed yearly) adds up on bigger teamsYesFree tier: yes (20 PR reviews/mo). Team $30, Pro $79, Max $160 per seat/mo (yearly). Monthly $40/$99/$200. (checked Oct 11, 2026)

"Free tier" comes from each tool's pricing line; "Not stated" means our source didn't say. Prices include the date we checked them.

Hosted review platforms

1. CodeRabbit

Best for: Teams that want every PR reviewed automatically before merge.

Pros

  • Free forever for public/open-source repositories
  • Per-seat plans from $24/user/mo (annual) with agentic reviews in PR, CLI, IDE and coding-agent loops

Cons

  • Hourly per-developer review allowances on every plan (fair-use policy)
  • Unit-test generation and finishing touches start on Team ($48/user/mo annual)

Skip it if: You want flat unlimited reviews — hourly allowances and usage-based charges apply.

Price: Free for public repos. Essentials $24/user/mo annual ($30 monthly), Team $48, Advanced $72, Enterprise custom; 14-day trial. (checked Nov 8, 2026)

Sources for CodeRabbit

2. Greptile

Best for: Teams that prefer usage-based AI code review over per-seat pricing.

Pros

  • Starter is free: 1 developer, 50 credits per month, unlimited repositories
  • Pro has no seat fees — $1 per credit, prepaid and shared across the whole org

Cons

  • Credit burn depends on review depth: base review 1 credit, plus 3, apex 10
  • Costs scale with review volume, which is hard to budget before you see usage

Skip it if: You need flat per-seat costs for budgeting.

Price: Starter free (1 dev, 50 credits/mo); Pro $1/credit, no seat fees (base review 1 credit, plus 3, apex 10); Enterprise custom; OSS free. (checked Nov 8, 2026)

Sources for Greptile

Self-hosted and local

4. avouch

Best for: Python developers wanting fast local review.

Pros

  • Git-aware AST review of only the Python you changed, run before git push
  • Runs locally in seconds

Cons

  • Early open-source project with a small community
  • Needs technical setup

Skip it if: You need multi-language review.

Price: Free and open source (MIT) (checked Oct 14, 2026)

Sources for avouch

Desktop and platform review

5. CodeCrab

Best for: Engineers who want AI PR review without giving a third-party bot org-wide OAuth on private code.

Pros

  • Desktop app reviews GitHub PRs, GitLab MRs and local pre-push changes using your own Claude Code, Cursor, Codex or Copilot CLI
  • Local-first: CodeCrab does not upload your repo to its servers; reviews stay on your machine

Cons

  • Your chosen AI CLI still sends review context to that provider under your account terms — not fully offline inference
  • Windows beta (v0.1.10); still early and depends on local CLI setup (gh/glab + an AI agent)

Skip it if: You want a hands-off cloud review bot that posts comments automatically.

Price: Free public beta. Uses your existing AI CLI subscriptions/keys; no separate CodeCrab subscription listed. (checked Oct 15, 2026)

Sources for CodeCrab

6. Cubic

Best for: Small teams that want automated PR review.

Pros

  • AI pull-request reviews with clear line-based limits
  • Free plan includes 20 PR reviews a month

Cons

  • Per-seat pricing ($30–$160/mo billed yearly) adds up on bigger teams
  • Overage costs $20 per 10,000 reviewed lines

Skip it if: You need a large, battle-tested review platform.

Price: Free tier: yes (20 PR reviews/mo). Team $30, Pro $79, Max $160 per seat/mo (yearly). Monthly $40/$99/$200. (checked Oct 11, 2026)

Sources for Cubic

FAQ

What are the best AI Code Review Tools in 2026?

Our 6 picks for reviewing pull requests automatically, grouped by task. Hosted review platforms: CodeRabbit and Greptile; Self-hosted and local: Proval and avouch; Desktop and platform review: CodeCrab and Cubic. Inside each task, tools are ordered by aitrove popularity, not by a quality score.

Which AI tools for AI code review have a free tier?

CodeRabbit, Proval, avouch, CodeCrab and Cubic have a free tier, according to the sourced pricing on each tool card. For the rest our sources don't state a free plan, so check the vendor page.

How were these AI tools for AI code review chosen?

We only publish a job roundup when at least 5 reviewed tools genuinely fit the work. Pros, catches and prices are compiled from public sources (official pricing and docs pages, published reviews, user reports), not hands-on testing, and were checked Oct 14, 2026. Every tool card links its sources.

More roundups

Pros, catches and prices are compiled from public sources (official pricing and docs pages, published reviews, user reports), not hands-on testing. Prices change often, so check the vendor page before you buy.